Author(s): W. E. Suida


Raphael (1483-1520) was one of the three great masters of the Italian High Renaissance, with Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci. Despite his early death at 37, he left a corpus of paintings and drawings that includes the frescoed Raphael Rooms in the Vatican palace -- the central and largest work of his career -- and The School of Athens in the Vatican Stanza della Segnatura. Reviving a much beloved group of artist monographs from the Phaidon archive, the new Phaidon Classics bring to life the fine craftsmanship and design of Phaidon books of the 1930s, 40s and 50s created by Ludwig Goldscheider - art historian, designer and co-founder of Phaidon Press. Updated with a contemporary 'classic' design, full colour images and new introductions by leading specialists on the work of each artist, these elegantly crafted volumes revive the fine bookmaking of the first half of the twentieth century, making Phaidon Classics instant collectors' items.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

William E Suida (1877-1959) was an Austrian art historian and Italian Renaissance and Baroque specialist. His bibliography includes works on Leonardo and his circle, Titian, Raphael, Bramante and other Florentine masters. Bette Talvacchia is Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Art History at the University of Connecticut and author of Phaidon's monograph Raphael (2007).

General Fields

  • : 9780714868899
  • : Phaidon Press Ltd
  • : Phaidon Press Ltd
  • : April 2015
  • : 354mm X 260mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : W. E. Suida
  • : Hardback
  • : 1
  • : 759.5
  • : 180