Orphans of the Tide

Author(s): Struan Murray

9-11yrs | New in Junior Fiction

An extraordinary tale of myth, magic and the power of friendship, perfect for fans of Sky Song and Cogheart.


The City - mankind's last refuge in a drowned world, where Whale Lords reign and the Inquisition keeps the peace.

The Enemy - a dark power, ever seeking to take possession of a human body and cause untold chaos.

The Inventor - a girl living in the heart of the City in a ramshackle workshop overflowing with curiosities.

When a whale washes up on the City roofs and a mysterious boy emerges from its belly, the superstitious citizens assume the Enemy has come again. Only Ellie - a fearless inventor striving to live up to her mother's legacy - believes the boy is innocent. Thrown together with the young fugitive, now on the run from the ruthless Inquisition, Ellie must discover who this boy really is - and what that means for her own terrible secret . . .

$14.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
2

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Struan Murray is Scottish and grew up in Edinburgh, the youngest of a large, rowdy family of redheads. He has a PhD in genetics and is now a lecturer in biochemistry at the University of Oxford. He won the 2018 Bath Children's Novel Award with this novel.

General Fields

  • : 9780241384435
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Puffin
  • : October 2019
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 352
  • : Struan Murray