The Stolen Lake (The Wolves of Willoughby Chase #4)

Author(s): Joan Aiken


"Aboard the man o`war, the Thrush, on the way back to London from Nantucket, Dido and crew are summoned to the aid of the tyrannical Queen of New Cumbria.who has appealed to England as her oldest ally for help - someone has stolen her lake. Her island is an infernal place with a suspicious lack of girl children, where birds called Aurocs carry off men and fish eat human flesh, streets are cobbled in silver and thirteen active volcanoes keep the citizens in a state of apprehension. Dido who is abducted twice and has many dangers to overcome, ultimately triumphs and the rightful heir to the throne is in place before the Thrush sets sail once more for London. Fitting in between Nightbirds on Nantucket and Limbo Lodge, The Stolen Lake can be read as an independent story"


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Dido Twite in American New Cumbria on her wildest adventure yet.

"The Stolen Lake is zanier and more devilishly fiendish than ever" The New York Times "A natural storyteller with the gift of endless and usually comic invention" Guardian "Joan Aiken's imagination is inexhaustible" Daily Telegraph "Joan Aiken is the best contemporary writer of historical fantasy we have" -- Susan Hill

Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times, said, 'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.

General Fields

  • : 9780099477396
  • : Random House
  • : Red Fox
  • : 0.224
  • : December 2004
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 19mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Joan Aiken
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : 320