Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass

Author(s): Lewis Carroll; John Tenniel (Illustrator)


Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Lewis CarrollAlice's Adventures in Wonderland (commonly shortened to Alice in Wonderland) is an 1865 novel written by English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. It tells of a girl named Alice falling through a rabbit hole into a fantasy world populated by peculiar, anthropomorphic creatures. The tale plays with logic, giving the story lasting popularity with adults as well as with children. It is considered to be one of the best examples of the literary nonsense genre. Its narrative course and structure, characters and imagery have been enormously influential in both popular culture and literature, especially in the fantasy genre.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'So many out-of-the-way things had happened lately, that Alice had begun to think that very few things indeed were really impossible' Alice in Wonderland

"A book of wonder and nonsense laced with lethal wit" Guardian "Without these two books in my childhood I doubt whether my imagination would have developed at all" -- Kate Atkinson "A marvellous confidence in the primacy of the imagination" -- Will Self "Two nightmare destinations. Wonderland and Looking Glass. The more I read these books, the darker they shine. Carroll operates on language like a cruel, crazy surgeon" -- Jeff Noon "Precise, dream-like, subversive" -- Quentin Blake Independent on Sunday

Lewis Carroll's real name was Charles Lutwidge Dodgson. He was born on 27th January 1832 at Daresbury in Cheshire. He studied at Christ Church, Oxford University and later became a mathematics lecturer there. He wrote Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and Through the Looking Glass (1872) for the daughters of the Dean of Christ Church. He was very fond of puzzles and some readers have found mathematical jokes and codes hidden in his Alice books. His other works include Phantasmagoria and Other Poems (1869), The Hunting of the Snark (1876), Rhyme? And Reason? (1882), The Game of Logic (1887) and Sylvie and Bruno (1889, 1893). Dodgson was also an influential photographer. He died on 14th January 1898.

General Fields

  • : 9780099512073
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Vintage
  • : 0.243
  • : August 2007
  • : 201mm X 133mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lewis Carroll; John Tenniel (Illustrator)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 823.8
  • : very good
  • : 327
  • : General & literary fiction; Classic fiction
  • : illustrations