Lantern Bearers ( Roman Britain Trilogy #3 )

Author(s): Rosemary Sutcliff


The last of the Roman army have set sail and left Britain forever, abandoning it to civil war and the threat of a Saxon invasion. Aquila, a young Legionnaire, deserted his regiment to stay behind with his family, but his home and all that he loves are destroyed. Years of hardship and fighting follow, and in the end, there is only one thing left in Aquila's life--his thirst for revenge . . . "The Lantern Bearers" is the winner of the 1959 Carnegie Medal in Literature.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"A spellbinding historical adventure . . . Smoothly written, fast-paced, remarkable in the atmosphere it evokes."--"The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"
Winner of the Carnegie Medal
An ALA Notable Book

Rosemary Sutcliff (1920-1992) wrote dozens of books for young readers, including her award-winning Roman Britain trilogy, "The Eagle of the Ninth," "The Silver Branch," and "The Lantern Bearers," which won the Carnegie Medal. "The Eagle of the Ninth" is now a major motion picture, The Eagle, directed by Kevin MacDonald and starring Channing Tatum. Born in Surrey, Sutcliff spent her childhood in Malta and on various other naval bases where her father was stationed. At a young age, she contracted Still's Disease, which confined her to a wheelchair for most of her life. Shortly before her death, she was named Commander of the British Empire (CBE) one of Britain's most prestigious honors. She died in West Sussex, England, in 1992.

General Fields

  • : 9780312644307
  • : Square Fish
  • : Square Fish
  • : November 2010
  • : 209mm X 141mm X 15mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback / softback
  • : 219
  • : illustrations
  • : Rosemary Sutcliff