The Window Seat

Author(s): Archie Weller


Since Archie Weller was runner-up for the first Vogel Award for his novel The Day of the Dog in 1980, he has become an important voice in contemporary Indigenous writing. The Window Seat is a collection of his best short fiction - some award-winning and some previously unpublished. It is both a retrospective and a tribute to his place in Australian literature. Archie Weller's stories are honest, brutal and often moving. In 'The Window Seat', we witness an old woman's final journey home and the view of the reluctant white traveller who sits beside her; in 'Stolen Car', a young Aboriginal man learns his first lesson in rough justice; and in 'Dead Dingo', we see another rallying against what his friends, life and fate are offering him. Collected here for the first time, these nineteen powerful stories present a rich and rewarding reading experience.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780702237157
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : August 2009
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : Australia
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Archie Weller
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : A823
  • : 324
  • : Modern fiction; Short stories