The Lost Tudor Princess: A Life of Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox

Author(s): Alison Weir


'Alison Weir's sound scholarship and storyteller's gift for rich, telling detail constantly engages and enthrals the reader? The TimesThe captivating life of Margaret Douglas - a life of scandal, political intrigue and royal romance that spanned five Tudor reigns.Royal Tudor blood ran in her veins. Some thought Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox, should be queen of England. She ranked high at the court of her uncle, Henry VIII, and was lady of honour to five of his wives. Beautiful and tempestuous, she created scandal - twice - by falling in love with unsuitable men. Throughout her life her dynastic ties to two crowns proved hazardous. A born political intriguer, she was imprisoned in the Tower of London three times, once under sentence of death. Her husband and son were brutally murdered, she warred with two queens, and proved instrumental in securing the Stuart succession to the throne of England for her grandson.Alison Weir brings Margaret Douglas's captivating character out of the shadows for the first time.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'Alison Weir is one of our best popular historians and one, moreover, with an impressive scholarly pedigree in Tudor history.' - Frank McLynn, Independent

"With a fine eye for period detail, Weir chronicles the romances, scandals and intrigues that saw five Tudor reigns." -- JC Lady "A fine writer with a wonderful gift for description" Literary Review "A refreshing perspective on an otherwise unfamiliar period of British history" The Times "Weir brings this astonishing and wild woman to glorious life." -- Kate Williams Metro "I thought I knew the Tudors, but Weir manages, delightfully, to spring a string of surprises." -- Sarah Gristwood BBC History Magazine

Alison Weir lives and works in Surrey. Her non-fiction books include The Six Wives of Henry VIII, Children of England, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Henry VIII: King and Court, Mary, Queen of Scots, Katherine Swynford and Elizabeth of York. Her novels include Innocent Traitor, The Lady Elizabeth and A Dangerous Inheritance.

General Fields

  • : 9780099546467
  • : Vintage Publishing
  • : Vintage
  • : 0.428
  • : January 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Alison Weir
  • : Paperback
  • : 516
  • : English
  • : 942.052092
  • : 576