The Cottingley Cuckoo: A Novel

Author(s): A.J. Elwood

Fantasy

The Cottingley Cuckoo is a gripping and disturbing gothic in the vein of Stacey Halls, Laura Purcell and Andrew Michael Hurley. Elwood combines an eerie past with prescient modern day concerns about pregnancy and childbirth in this atmospheric tale; one that will gradually creep it's way inside your soul...Captivated by books and stories, Rose dreams of a more fulfilled life, away from the confines of the Sunnyside Care Home where she works to support herself and her boyfriend. She hopes the situation will be short term.Charlotte Favell, an elderly resident, takes a strange, sinister interest in Rose, but offers an unexpected glimpse of enchantment. She has a mysterious and aged stack of letters about the Cottingley Fairies, the photographs made famous by Arthur Conan Doyle, but later dismissed as a hoax. The author of the letters insists he has proof that the fairies exist; Rose is eager to learn more, but Charlotte only allows her to read on when she sees fit.Discovering she is unexpectedly pregnant, Rose feels another door to the future has slammed. The letters’ content grows more menacing, inexplicable events begin to occur inside her home, and Rose begins to entertain dark thoughts about her baby and its origins. Can this simply be depression? Or is something darker taking root?

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
2

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781789096859
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : June 2021
  • : {"length"=>["19.8"], "width"=>["13"], "units"=>["Centimeters"]}
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : A.J. Elwood
  • : Paperback