One River: Explorations and Discoveries in the Amazon Rain Forest

Author(s): Wade Davis

Travel Stories

From the author of Into The Silence, winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction. In 1941, Richard Evans Schultes took a leave of absence from Harvard University and disappeared into the Northern Amazon of Colombia. The world's leading authority on the hallucinogens and medicinal plants of the region, he returned after twelve years of travelling through South America in a dug-out canoe, mapping uncharted rivers, living among local tribes and documenting the knowledge of shamans. Thirty years later, his student Wade Davis landed in Bogota to follow in his mentor's footsteps - so creating an epic tale of undaunted adventure, a compelling work of natural history and a testament to the spirit of scientific exploration.


Available Stock:
On Order:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

From the author of INTO THE SILENCE, the winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize 2012, comes an epic tale of adventure in the Amazon rainforest.

"Davis writes magnificently... A great lyrical book, as richly varied as the rain forests it describes" New York Times Book Review "An exceptional tale of 20th-century scientific exploration and a rousing travelogue to places both real and illusory" Kirkus Reviews "Extraordinary...a biographical tapestry rich in history, adventure, intrigue and scholarship" Nature "A wild ride through one rapid after another...magnificent" Boston Globe

An Explorer-in-Residence at the National Geographic Society, Wade Davis holds degrees in anthropology and biology and received his Ph.D. in ethnobotany, all from Harvard University. Davis is the author of 15 books including The Serpent and the Rainbow, One River, and The Wayfinders. His many film credits include Light at the Edge of the World, an eight-hour documentary series produced for the National Geographic Channel. In 2009 he received the Gold Medal from the Royal Canadian Geographical Society for his contributions to anthropology and conservation, and he is the 2011 recipient of the Explorers Medal, the highest award of the Explorers' Club, and the 2012 David Fairchild Medal for Plant Exploration, the most prestigious prize for botanical exploration.

General Fields

  • : 9780099592969
  • : Vintage
  • : Vintage
  • : 0.517
  • : March 2014
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Wade Davis
  • : Paperback
  • : 914
  • : 918.11
  • : 544
  • : illustrations